Spring Break – break with old habits ?

It is Spring Break in Vancouver this week, so I took the kids to the Vancouver Aquarium.   The kids love coming here and are never bored with sea creatures.  As we moved from exhibit to exhibit, we saw sea turtles, sharks, garden eels, otters, belugas, you get my drift.

My favourites ?  The brightly coloured tropical fish, sea stars and sea anemones.  They have always been my favourites.   How could you not love them?  They are fascinating to watch as they navigate their underwater world.

IMG_2742

As I looked at the other visitors, most of them were dressed like me.  Jeans, black boots, dark coats.  My daughter was wearing a bright pink shirt and jacket.  Hours earlier, when she was getting dressed, I asked if she wanted to wear black like mommy.  Do you know what she said?  “No, it’s not pretty.”  Well, she nailed that didn’t she ?

During our recent trip to Maui, I barely wore grey and when I did it was shorts or capri pants.  My tank tops were bright and lively and my white shirts looked crisp and cool. Maybe it was the heat or the sunshine or both, but I wouldn’t think of putting on a drab grey shirt.  And neither did most of the other tourists I saw.

When did we (the royal we) lose our desire to wear colour?  Have you seen a playground or elementary schoolyard recently?  The girls are in various shades of colour (not always a good look, but you get my point).  Most boys are dressed in standard blue, grey, red with the odd spot of orange thrown in by an colour confident mom.  I think in high school, it starts to change.  The colours become more muted as teenagers try and fit in and not stand out.

But as adults, we are more confident in our choices, so why do some of us seem so drab ?   Is it just the area where we live ?  Is it the seasons?  Last Fall, when burgundy seemed to be the in colour, I bought a couple shirts and vowed to wear them regularly.  Did I ?  Not really, just every few weeks.  Why?  Because grey filled my shelves and it was easier to grab.

As I start to prepare for our challenge, I am going to be more open to colour.  I can’t say I will be the brightest on the block, but I am going to try to change.  I am going to look for inspiration and try to break my grey habit.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

