Long Weekend Musings

We are very lucky to live fairly close to Whistler and usually go there every summer.

Having just returned home from our weekend away in Whistler, I thought I would share a few of my pre-trip thoughts:

  1. I hate packing to go away (mainly for me, I find it easy to pack for the kids and dog).
  2. I like being somewhere else, but I don’t always enjoy the journey to get there (will save this topic for another post, but I try too hard to pack right, leave on time, etc..).
  3. I hate forgetting things (anything).

But while I am away, I have much better thoughts:

  1. Why worry about what to pack in Whistler, because it is pretty casual and anything goes. Seriously anything goes.  I saw high heels at the top of the mountain.  I didn’t need to stress, because I brought the right clothes.
  2. For a short car trip to Whistler, it doesn’t matter what time we leave. It really doesn’t matter.
  3. It is ok to forget things, because there is a store for pretty much everything you need right in the Village, or fairly close by.  This applies to toothbrushes, hoodies, bathing suits, hats, sunglasses, books, etc.

All that aside, going away is usually a great time and there are so many fun things to do in Whistler.  It is hard to squeeze everything into a weekend, so here are a few of our family favourite activities:

  1. Going biking – so many trails, so little time.  The trails are for everyone, even our newest little cyclist.
  2. Going to the lake – pick one; Alta Lake, Alpha Lake, Lost Lake – all are just a few minutes away.  We usually bring a butterfly net to catch tadpoles and little fish.  The kids can spend hours doing this!
  3. Wandering the village to see what is going on. This weekend was filled with Canada Day celebrations.
  4. Hit the hotel or condo pool.  Even in the winter, the outdoor pools are heated!
  5. Our newest adventure was a ride to the top of the mountain for lunch and then taking the Peak 2 Peak gondola to Blackcomb. Amazing views from what felt like the top of the world.

IMG_3324 IMG_3363

This weekend away was a great start to our summer.   I am already hoping we will go again next month, and I already know what to pack 🙂

Leave a Reply

