The people in our neighbourhood

Remember Mr. Rogers?

Image

source: from internet

He sang a song called, “The People in Our Neighbourhood” and to this day I still remember most of it.

I love my neighbourhood!  The area has been in transition for many years and it is a great place to live.  Why ?  Well, we can walk to the store, community centre, movie theatre and restaurants.  In addition to that, there are lots of playgrounds, dog parks and green space.

So, I thought I would tell you some of the people in my neighbourhood who are unique and make it fun to live here:

Safeway Sam – Be warned if you get in his line up at Safeway, he will chat and chat and chat. Sometimes he is oblivious to the line up growing behind his till.  But he will give you recipes and ideas on what to make with what you are buying and this is why I try to always frequently go to his till.

Childcare Cathy – This is a great lady who watches the kids at our local community centre.  She lives in the neighbourhood, has already rasied her own kids and is a friendly face for both parents and kids.  She is a sanity saver when you need a couple hours to yourself!

Corner store guy – I don’t know his name, but his little corner store is open 24 hours a day and whenever we need cream for coffee, or ginger ale for an upset stomach, he is open.  Every neighbourhood needs a corner store and yet you don’t see many anymore.

Dog Walker – this elderly gentleman has lived down the block for over 50 years!  He can frequently be seen walking the streets with a couple of his canine companions.  I bet he sees more of what goes on around here than the rest of us.

These are just some of the reasons and the people why I love my ‘hood.

Leave a Reply

