Let It Be

20130721-195529.jpg

A couple years ago I rediscovered how much I enjoy going to see live music. The eye-opener was U2 with Lenny Kravitz. One of the best shows I’ve ever seen and the 3rd date with the same guy I’m still seeing now.

Over the past couple years we’ve made it a point to attend as many concerts, big and small, that we’ve been able to fit in. Some were fun, like Train and INXS. Some were amazing performances like Coldplay and Maroon 5. Some, like Madonna, were kind of disappointing.

Friday night we saw Paul McCartney in Seattle at Safeco Field. It was the first concert held at that venue in its history and took 8 days and 250 people to put it together. So. Well. Worth. It.

To be clear, I was never a huge Beatles fan. But this was Paul McCartney! Stella’s dad! He of Beatles and Wings fame! Chalked it up to one of those once-in-a-lifetime opportunities and off we went with another couple to enjoy a night out.

Paul McCartney is amazing and fun in one 71-year-old human package. 71 years old!!! He played 3 hours and I never saw him take a sip of water. He made the crowd laugh, clap, cheer and sing along. In fact, it was the first concert we’d attended together that I heard my guy singing along. He says he finally knew the words to the songs. We barely sat down for the entire show and I had the sore feet to prove it.

Nearly 3 hours in and nearing what we assumed to be the finale, Sir Paul announces he has a special surprise for the Seattle crowd. Go figure. He introduces Dave Grohl and the other surviving members of Nirvana. As a friend put it so well “I went to see Paul McCartney and a Nirvana concert broke out!” These guys were clearly having the best time and again, Paul kept up with the younger guys. In fact, he came out two more times and brought them in with him.

Time and again my friends and I shook our heads at each other and commented how amazing the show was. We grabbed each other’s arms when Hey, Jude began and shed a tear when he dedicated a song to first his current wife, Nancy, and then later to his first wife, Linda. We made a deal to buy a Stella McCartney bag instead of a concert souvenir!

I’m not going out to track down vintage Beatles albums or buy a Union Jack t-shirt. But I will put this concert right up there with U2 and I have to admit I didn’t think I would put Sir Paul McCartney in the same category as Bono.

Leave a Reply

