Just do it

100px-Pink_ribbon.svg

If you thought this post was about Nike or exercising, sorry, but you are wrong!

Yesterday, I had my annual mammogram.

Here in British Columbia, women over 40 are eligible to go every year for this test (for free!).    I am in my mid-forties and have been going every year for the past 5 years.  When I turned 40, I was nursing so had to wait until I was 41 to have my first mammogram.  I was actually looking forward to it.   Why?  For me it was another way to stay healthy and stay ahead of cancer.

Most women want to know 2 questions.  How long does it take ?  Does it hurt?  Well, I waited longer in the waiting room (about 5 minutes) than it took for the test to be completed.   It can be a little uncomfortable, but the discomfort doesn’t last long.  I don’t mind.  For me, it is worth it.

I know it is not a sure thing.  I know there is some controversy about mammograms, frequency of testing, and false positive tests.  But I believe that mammograms save lives.

So, if you are eligible, please go.

For more information, click here: BC Cancer Agency

linking up with The Jenny Evolution Friday Flash Blog

One thought on “Just do it

Leave a Reply

