Fall Organizing

If January is a time of resolutions and fresh starts, and March is for spring cleaning, then September is the month of organizing.

I have been feeling the urge since the end of August to use my label maker, buy some baskets and clean closets.  Maybe it  was the post by Thrifty Decor Chick and how her house was being decrapified (love that word).  Read what she did here.  It is so inspiring!

I have been doing this on and off for months, but now I am way more motivated!  Fall is my season to decrapify (love that word) my house.   I have already accumulated about 4 small garbage bags of clothes, shoes, books, toys and random household objects.  All these will be donated to our local thrift store and I am excited knowing I will be adding more to my donation pile.

I have made a list of both indoor and outdoor projects that I would like to accomplish before November 30th.  Some of these projects are:

  • painting touch ups
  • finding a cabinet for the kids’ bathroom
  • storage solutions for our basement playroom
  • hanging pictures
  • planting bulbs outdoors
  • re-staining the deck
  • closets, closets, closets

The list goes on and on.  Wish me luck.

One of my first organizing tasks was my shoe closet.  I used to always remember what shoe was stored in what box.  Well, add a few years, 2 kids and I no longer have that skill.

Before:

IMG_4350

So, I decided to switch all my shoes into clear shoe boxes.  The shoe boxes were on sale at Canadian Tire for $1.24. I originally bought 6, but had to go back and buy more (of course…)

IMG_4353

After:

IMG_4360

This project was a quick win.   It took very little time, was low cost and now I can see my shoes.

And who doesn’t want to see her shoes ?  🙂

linking up with: The Jenny Evolution and Suburbs Mama and Thrifty Decor Chick

4 thoughts on “Fall Organizing

  1. Kim September 21, 2013 / 1:55 pm

    Great post and I love that word too…decrapify! It’s even fun to say! Thanks for coming by to check out my post on organization, I think you’re right, September is the month for it! You have made me want to clean out my closet and go shoe shopping! 😉

    • ceekay2 September 22, 2013 / 1:53 pm

      Thanks ! Hope you find some great shoes and shoe boxes, of course!

  2. leeles2 September 22, 2013 / 9:39 am

    That looks so good! Can you come organize my house?

    • ceekay2 September 22, 2013 / 1:54 pm

      I have to admit, the shoes were an easy one – try it!!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

