Fall for Soup

The days are shorter, the weather is cooler and the leaves are falling.

This is definitely the time of year where my cooking style changes.  I lean towards warmer lunches and more comfort food for dinner.   I like to try and make different soups as they are quick, easy and a good way to get extra veggies into my family.  My husband has fond memories of his Oma’s homemade pea soup, and he also loves the pea soup my mom makes.  I have never made it, so thought I would give it a try.  I was surprised how easy it was!

I scoured a few of my cookbooks and a couple online recipe sites I use, and ended up using a recipe from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution.

IMG_4436

IMG_4439

I love Jamie Oliver, his cookbooks and what he has done for educating people about the food they eat.  So, I figured his Pea and Mint Soup would be a good one to try.  All except the fact, that I didn’t have mint, but then again I have never had mint in my pea soup, so I figured it would be ok.  I wanted ham in mine, so I chopped some of the pre-cooked hams you can easily buy at the grocery store.

It required just a few ingredients and was so easy to make.  I actually did it in my crock pot on low for about 4 hours instead of on the stove.   All the ingredients were thrown in at the same time, and I blended it towards the end leaving some of the peas whole for more texture.   I don’t think there was any difference in the taste, and it was delicious!  My husband liked it a lot and even my kids thought it was pretty good (in a very small dose).

I would definitely make it again, omitting the mint.  After eating a few bowls of the soup, my husband said to me, “I don’t like peas, but I like pea soup.”  We have been together almost 20 years and I never knew he didn’t like peas.  You learn something new everyday!

Here is Jamie’s recipe:

Pea and Mint Soup
By Jamie Oliver

Serves 6-8
Prep and cook time: 30 minutes

  • 2 carrots
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 2 medium onions
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 ¾ quarts chicken or vegetable broth, preferably organic
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 5 ½ cups frozen peas
  • Fresh mint

Peel and roughly slice the carrots. Slice the celery. Peel and roughly chop the onions. Peel and slice the garlic.

Put broth in a saucepan and heat until boiling. Put a large saucepan on medium heat and add 2 tablespoons olive oil. Add all your chopped and sliced ingredients to the pan and mix together with a wooden spoon. Cook for around 10 minutes with the lid askew, until the carrots have softened up, but are still holding their shape, and the onion is lightly golden.

Add the boiling broth to the vegetables. Add your peas. Give the soup a good stir and bring to a boil. Allow to simmer for 10 minutes.

Pick your mint leaves off the stems. (I used about 10, but Jamie doesn’t give an amount.)

When the peas have softened, remove the pan from the heat. Season with salt and pepper and add the mint leaves. Using an immersion blender pulse the soup until smooth.

Enjoy!

linking up with: The Jenny Evolution

Leave a Reply

