Fun Finds

I found a few interesting things this week that I would like to share with you.

First up, this great new app called Think Dirty.  My sister loves her make up and personal care products, so I thought this app would help her find out what is actually in her makeup.  You can scan the barcode of your item and it will tell you if there are harsh chemicals or toxic ingredients in your products.  The app is free at the App Store and easy to use.  I thought I had been watching what kind of products I had been buying, but I think I may have been mislead by the words organic and natural.  I’m eager to start using this app the next time I head to the store.

Next, I found this seller on Etsy who sells original art for just $10!  What a great way to have some original pieces at an affordable price.  You choose the colours and style, and she creates it.  How cool is that?!

Check out her site Gallery Wall.  I really like this:

il_170x135.515745301_camo

Squares Style Fifteen

and this piece

il_570xN.515682098_e1mi

X O Style Sixteen

Lastly, I just heard of waxed jeans.

_8187604

This image is of the Eileen Fisher waxed jeans available at Nordstrom.

Not sure if this is a buy or a WTF ?  Apparently, they are expensive and you aren’t supposed to wash them ?  It is like wearing jeans with a candle wax coating, which sounds strange to me.  I get that it adds a bit of sheen, which makes them a little dressier than a regular jean.  But some reviews I read said they don’t have a lot of stretch and are quite stiff to wear.    I think I’ll be taking a pass on this type of jean.  If you have a pair, I’d be interested in knowing what you think.  Personally, I prefer something softer and more comfortable, which is maybe my age talking…

Hope you had a great weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

