A pinteresting birthday

I am the first to admit that I am slightly greatly addicted to Pinterest. A while back, I mentioned in this post how I tend to pin more than I execute. But I am trying to change that…

So when planning my son’s recent 7th birthday, I decided to use some of those pins I had tucked away under “Birthdays”.

Let me start by saying that I am not a super crafty person, so I kept to the more simpler ideas and I think they turned out pretty well.

Below you will find the inspiration pin and then a picture of my interpretation of it.

  • First up, wrapping his lunch in gift wrap. Easy peasy. There is not a lot of skill involved, just a wee bit of planning to make sure you have wrapping paper and the kid doesn’t see you do it.

bb25afef49375f9f62cff9e04eca4e4fIMG_4750

  • Next, the number of his age built out in Lego. Again, low on the skill level but makes for a great photo opportunity. The hard part was sneaking into his room while he was sleeping to get the Lego I needed without making too much noise.

cf011af4ce307629827c6bd084602e92IMG_4718

  • Lastly, I did his age in sprinkles on the cake. I had already iced 24 cupcakes for his class, so I was a little low on icing. Please don’t judge my icing skills, it’s the number on top that counts. This pin involved a little bit of effort as you had to cut out the number, strategically place it on the cake and then sprinkle.

68a265ab7b3598456f343b92c9e5bd53IMG_4788

All in all, they were easy ways to make my son’s day fun and it made for some great pictures.  I can now file these under “Pinned and Tried”.

linking up with The Jenny Evolution

3 thoughts on “A pinteresting birthday

  1. pintentionalliving November 24, 2013 / 1:20 pm

    Cute! I’m not super crafty, either. I refuse to pin ideas that are way above my skill level because I know I’ll never actually do them. Or be able to afford them. lol!

    • C.K. November 25, 2013 / 5:38 pm

      Ok – I’m probably guilty of sometimes pinning over my talent level, but I can dream, right?! Thanks for stopping by & happy pinning!!

  2. leeles2 November 24, 2013 / 8:39 pm

    They look great! You’re a good momma!!!

Leave a Reply

