Small Things, Big Thanks

This week I will celebrate Thanksgiving with all my American family and friends. Thirteen years living in the U.S. has made me appreciate this holiday for a few reasons and not just because Americans seem to relish this holiday almost more than Christmas! While I still can’t wrap my head around that, I am still slowing but surely learning to embrace this holiday with the enthusiasm of the people around me.

Of course I’m thankful for so many things! The obvious ones: family, friends and good health are the first that come to mind. The lesser obvious like my gutters getting cleaned and my dryer getting fixed make me so thankful as those lighten my load considerably. On Tuesday, I will be thankful the U.S. is allowing me to renew my Green Card.

While I don’t love my job, I am thankful I have one and that my company gives us the day after Thanksgiving off as well as the day itself. I’m thankful that I will have my girls with me this year to enjoy those days off.

Speaking of my kids, they have no desire to eat a traditional Thanksgiving dinner. Has no appeal to them whatsoever. So, to make everyone thankful, I’m going to add a few things they like to our menu. That might be Mac and Cheese out of a box if I’m reading them right but who cares? I want them to continue to be THANKFUL for ME.

I am thankful for the great guy I’m going to marry next year. He is the kind of guy that, despite our attempt at deep frying our turkey last year resulted in a dry bird, is willing to give it a go again this year. He bought fresh oil a couple weeks ago in preparation.

There are so many reasons to give thanks and the list can go on and on. I am reminded right now, flicking through my weather app, that I have another thing to be thankful for – the dry and quite sunny fall weather will continue this week!

Happy Thanksgiving one and all! Christmas is only a month away!!! Woo Hoo!!!

One thought on “Small Things, Big Thanks

  1. C.K. November 25, 2013 / 5:43 pm

    Those are great things to be thankful for. Enjoy the turkey & shopping?!?

Leave a Reply

