Open Sesame!

Almost three years ago, we started a major reno/gut job on our 1940s style bungalow.  It took about eight months to complete and we moved back to our house in November 2011.  I’ll do a post on the whole fun (yes, fun) process another time, but today I want to tell you about a recent change we made and two lessons I learned.

When we started our project, we had a specific budget in mind to get the interior layout and exterior 100% right.  We figured we could always change some finishings, colours, and add mouldings later on.  So, knowing that we had a budget, we went with bi-fold doors in a classic shaker style for most of our closets.  Bi-fold doors are relatively inexpensive, open wide and come in a variety of styles to suit your home.  Bi-fold doors often fall off their track if not installed properly or are used a lot by kids opening and closing and opening and closing many times a day.

IMG_4198

So, after 20 months the bi-fold doors in our main entryway were starting to look tired.  I also realized that I could use some extra storage for my hats and scarves.  After a quick discussion with my husband, he agreed to make the change.  Within a couple weeks, the existing bi-fold doors had been sold on Craigslist (I.love.Craigslist.) and the new fixed closet doors were installed.  I found these hooks at Canadian Tire and installed one on the inside of each new door.

IMG_4370

Have you heard the saying, “measure twice, cut once”?   Well, I didn’t measure quite well enough the first time and with my drill, I put two little bumps in my new doors like this:

IMG_4378

Aargh!!  It was frustrating, but easy enough to sand them down, fill them and repaint.  Lesson learned – measure twice!!

So, here is my final reveal of my closet door interior and exterior:

IMG_5173

IMG_5169

When I look at the before and after picture, I realized those tiny little handles didn’t do much to the appearance of the doors.  Our entry way is a pretty big space and I think the new doors and handles better suit the space.   In hindsight, we should have installed these types of doors instead of bi-fold originally.  The cost difference isn’t that much more and it is easier than having the contractor come back to do a small job like this.  I read enough home design magazines that I should have know this 🙂

What did I learn from this?

  • Sometimes it makes sense to spend just a little more in the beginning to get the right product
  • Measure twice

I am now seriously thinking about changing a few more of my bi-fold doors…why didn’t I do this sooner ?!  Is there anything you wish you had done during your reno ?  Let me know – maybe I will need to change something else!

linking up with: The Jenny Evolution and The Happy Housie and Thrifty Decor Chick and 

The Pin Junkie

5 thoughts on “Open Sesame!

  1. Krista @ the happy housie February 1, 2014 / 6:09 am

    Lesson learned! I agree that it is sometimes better just to get exactly what you want in the beginning and spend a little more then live with something that you are slightly dissatisfied with before finally changing it. But I cannot even count how many times I have done that exact same thing (settled or cheaped out at the start….). I am trying really hard not to do that anymore!! The new doors look amazing and are so much more practical- especially when you have a good amount of space.

    • C.K. February 5, 2014 / 4:36 pm

      Thanks so much for stopping by!! If only I had a little renovation angel that would sit on my shoulder every now and then and offer up some great advice. But since I don’t have one, I am definitely trying to make better decisions as I make changes to the house.

  2. Yonas B April 7, 2016 / 6:34 pm

    Hello –

    Any chance you can tell me where you got your white bi-fold closet doors? Thanks in advance.

    yb

    • C.K. April 8, 2016 / 8:25 am

      My contractor ordered them at the time of our big reno from a door company. But I think Home Depot also carries a similar style. The are a basic simple shaker style if that helps. Good luck & thanks for stopping by 🙂

      • Yonas Berhe April 8, 2016 / 8:51 am

        Ok. Will do. Thanks for getting back to me.

        yb

        On Fri, Apr 8, 2016 at 11:25 AM, 50 days of no grey wrote:

        > C.K. commented: “My contractor ordered them at the time of our big reno > from a door company. But I think Home Depot also carries a similar style. > The are a basic simple shaker style if that helps. Good luck & thanks for > stopping by :)” >

Leave a Reply

