Gag

I have a hate/hate relationship with green juices and juicing in general.
Raw, roasted, steamed or baked, I will eat almost any vegetable and thoroughly enjoy them. Throw those same vegetables or any combination recipe you can find online into a blender and my gag reflex kicks in at high speed.
Christmas 2013 I received a juicer from Future Hub and I juiced consistently for about 6 months. At that point I just couldn’t fake it any longer. Said juicer has been in a bottom kitchen cupboard ever since.
From that point on I have tried, on several occasions, the famous Glowing Green Smoothie. Again, I’ll get it down but that’s the best I can say about the experience.
I WANT to glow. I WANT to consume copious amounts of veggies in a single glass. I WANT to reap all those highly publicized benefits. However, I do NOT want to choke down those concoctions.

20140211-161144.jpg

 

I have a friend who recently completed a 7-Day juice fast consisting of (exclusively, I believe) juices from Evolution Fresh. That’s seven days of liquid fruits and veggies. That’s it. Finishing lunch today at a sushi restaurant with her and several other green-juice-drinking friends, I walked next door to Evolution Fresh and was schooled in the various juices available. “Which one won’t be disgusting?” I asked. The cleansing friend pointed out a couple so picked up a couple and vowed to try drinking green again.

How I wish I could report better results. How I wish I could say I threw down that drink and wished I’d had more. Sadly, this is not the case. Nope. The blend of celery, apple, cucumber, spinach, romaine, kale, lime, lemon, parsley, wheat grass and clover sprouts tasted like lawn to me.

I poured over ice and offered a taste to my 10-year-old and her friend. They drank their shot and proclaimed it “ok”. I offered a taste to my youngest and she gagged without even taking a sniff.

After sampling, I guess I consumed about 11 of the 15 ounces. I don’t feel renewed energy or a mental clarity. But I am craving a Coke Zero.

One thought on “Gag

Leave a Reply

