Mexican style soup

I’ve been feeling a little bored in the kitchen lately. The minions kids are being a little bit more fussy at dinner and the husband is also nixing some of my dinner ideas.  So, in my attempt to spice things up in the kitchen and make meals more interesting, I decided to throw some things together in my trusty crockpot.  I had Mexican food on the mind.

All good recipes start with onions and garlic, so I quickly sautéed those up and threw them in the bottom of the cooker. To that I added the following:

  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1/2 cup of rice (any kind)
  • 6 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp of chili powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

It was so easy and really, how could you go wrong with those ingredients!?

IMG_5210

When serving the soup, I added toppings; shredded cheese, sour cream and guacamole and served it with tortilla chips and a cold cerveza.

My husband and I thought it was delicious!  I would love to tell you that the minions kids also loved it, but they didn’t.  Surprisingly, they actually do like most of these ingredients, but separately.  I did manage to get them to dip their chips into the soup, but my efforts were pretty futile and they ran out of chips way before they made a dent in their soup bowls.

Oh well, I tried.  You can’t please everyone all of the time, but at least I wasn’t hungry!

IMG_5220

linking up with: The Pin JunkieThe Jenny EvolutionThe Happy Housie,AKA Design

One thought on “Mexican style soup

Leave a Reply

