Pinned & Tried

Today, this is the Food Edition of Pinned & Tried.  Yum!  My husband and son are really great eaters and try everything I put on the table.  My daughter, on the other hand, is a little more selective.  She likes a lot of things, but isn’t so keen to try something new.  While making dinner a couple nights ago, I needed to add some veggies  and I was tired of the usual raw carrots, cucumber and steamed broccoli, you know?

So, I remembered I had seen this recipe on Pinterest:

Southwest Bean & Corn Salad

 

I know corn and beans are not really considered veggies, but I thought it would be a great addition to our fish and since I had all of the ingredients, I decided to give it a try!

Ingredients
15 oz. can black beans
8 oz. cherry tomatoes, diced
1 cup corn (I used a can)
1 large orange bell pepper, diced
1/3 cup red onion, finely diced
3/4 cup loosely packed cilantro, stems removed
1 avocado

Dressing
Juice from 1 large orange
Juice from 1 1/2 limes (I didn’t have limes, so used lemon juice)
1/4 tsp. cumin, or more to taste
1/2 tsp. agave (or honey)
1/8 tsp. salt
Optional: cayenne pepper or chipotle for a kick!

Directions
Make the dressing: in a small bowl, whisk together all ingredients until agave/honey is incorporated. It should yield about 1/2 cup dressing. Set aside.
In a separate bowl, combine the beans (rinsed and drained), tomato, corn, red onion, bell pepper, and roughly chopped cilantro.
Add the dressing and toss to combine.
Best if chilled 1 hour (can be longer) before serving.
Stir well before serving, as some of the dressing gathers at the bottom.
Top with diced avocado right before serving.

 

This was so easy and tasted so good.  I wished I had used lime in the dressing recipe as I think it would have had a better flavour, but it was still very very good and refreshing.  It’s a great summer salad and will definitely make it again.  Even my daughter ate it, so that makes it a very successful pinned & tried!

 

linking up with: Made From PinterestThe Jenny EvolutionSincerely, Paula

 

Leave a Reply

