Beer Can Chicken

I admit I am not a great cook and I am also dealing with not having an oven in
my kitchen right now.
However, I do have a BBQ and beer and therefore tonight we had Beer Can Chicken.
Sounds a little cheesy or South Park like? Well let me tell you something…it was delicious!

So simple! So Juicy!

Here goes:

Take a 4 lb whole chicken and remove the neck and giblets (gross). Rinse the whole thing and pat dry with paper towels

Season the inside and out with salt and pepper. Use your favorite spice rub on the outside of the chicken ( I didn’t really have one so I used Mrs Dash Grilling Blends for Chicken).

Open a regular sized can of beer and take a couple big gulps as the can only needs to be half full. Safeway only had Tecate beer available in single cans tonight so that’s what I used.

Set the can on a flat surface and place chicken on top as shown below.

20140716-213305.jpg

Cook chicken over medium-high indirect heat on BBQ grill for an hour then check it. No flame should actually touch the chicken during the cooking. It is ready when juices run clear when stabbed or when internal temp reaches 180 degrees F in the thigh or 165 degrees F in the breast.

Let it sit for another 10 minutes after removing it from the grill then carve and serve.

Future hub says while it was tasty and certainly moist (I hate that word) he thinks it might be easier to just buy a roasted chicken in the deli department. I say if I can cook a chicken that taste just as good if not better then I’ll definitely cook a chicken over a beer can again!

 

linking up with:  The Jenny Evolution

 

 

Leave a Reply

