Pinned & Tried

As I type this, I’m wondering if the title should be Pinned & Tried & Failed.  Keep reading to find out why. I scooped this old steamer style trunk off my parents a couple years ago.  My Dad was given it in the early 60s and it had not been used in years.  As a result, it smelled.  Bad.  Musty.  I tried keeping holiday decorations in the trunk, but they all came out smelling bad and musty. IMG_6058 IMG_6051 So, being the true pinner that I am, I knew there had to be a pin-solution for me.  It didn’t take me long to find this : de5cdb5672e0be47e36a816a760047fd Direct from Apartment Therapy were also these helpful tips.   Some of these things I did try:

  1. airing outside in the sun
  2. baking soda – boxes of the stuff
  3. coffee grounds – more than Starbucks could imagine
  4. vinegar
  5. old newspapers (?)

I didn’t try the kitty litter, because it was just too late for me.  I was tired of trying different methods with no results and I needed to use the trunk. So, I decided to go hard core.  What is hard core you ask?  Paint.  Leftover Benjamin Moore Simply White in semi-gloss. IMG_6061 I had hesitated going this route as I would have to paint over the paper lining and it seemed harsh.  However, I soon got over my guilt and proceeded.  It wasn’t my best paint job.  I barely cut into the corners and I slapped on 3 coats as quickly as the paint would dry.   But you know what?  It worked!! This lovely old steamer trunk has the fresh true smell of paint which is much much better than the old musty smell it had been carrying around for years. So unfortunately, this is one pin that didn’t work out.  On the positive side, I now have a trunk that won’t make my holiday decorations smell and that’s a good thing! linking up with: Thrifty Decor ChickThe Happy HousieThe Jenny EvolutionThe Pin JunkieTiny SidekickSweet HauteCurly Crafty MomBonBon Rose Girls

2 thoughts on “Pinned & Tried

  1. Carrie @ Curly Crafty Mom January 14, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    Too funny! I guess sometimes pins don’t always work out, I have had a couple bad recipes from off Pinterest… That is a beautiful trunk, tho!

    • C.K. January 15, 2015 / 2:49 pm

      Even if they don’t work out, it doesn’t stop me from pinning 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

