Where I Went and What I Wore

Hub and I recently returned from a belated honeymoon in Bora Bora. If you’ve been you know that you can’t describe it in words or photos because it’s even better in person. Coming from Seattle, it’s a long way to go for six nights and I do not recommend drinking a bottle of wine before boarding the 8+ hour flight but that’s another story.

Chronic over-packers, we both decided to lay out our suitcases a week before departure and get started in hopes of avoiding our usual night before/morning of frantic routine of tossing things (too many things) in our bags and rushing out the door. What is it they say about best laid plans? So, needless to say we had to make a quick trip to Nordstrom just 7 hours before our plane was leaving and managed to get what we needed (wanted?) and get out…and did I mention my husband took advantage of 1-hour alterations? We crushed it. Before the packing began, however, I bought these cute mesh bags I found at Marshall’s.

These, along with some others I already owned, would be the key to my organization for this trip! Swimwear in one, underwear in another and things like phone and camera chargers went in the smaller ones My sister and I bought cute matching sun hats in Chelan, WA several years ago and though I still like it, the weave lets a lot of sun through and I am actively trying to fight the signs of aging so I  went in search of other options. I found this one at REI  

My head seems to be a little larger than average but this one fit perfectly. I’m also happy to report I wore it almost constantly during the day and my melasma stayed mostly at bay. I was sadly lacking in cute dresses until  my adorable salesperson, Albert, at Nordstrom brought me this one by Maison Scotch. LOVED it and felt good in it. Digging the tropical floral vibe. AND it has pockets.   

Another cute little item I picked up was a jumpsuit that I also found at Nordstrom. Sooo not my usual style but thought it might work for dinner around the resort. I was RIGHT! It worked so well I wore it for two dinners. The price was something like $68 which was outstanding. The brand is Roxy which I usually think of as a teenager or thirty-something-with-a-great-body brand but I’m neither and it worked.  

Finally, I invested in a pair of Tory Burch sandals/flip flops. My beloved Havaianas didn’t quite look right with my new purchases. Love these. Not much to them, in fact nothing in the way of support, but comfy.  

It’s been a month since we returned and I’m really looking for opportunities to wear my vacation clothes.

Would love to know what everyone has picked up for their holiday wardrobes!

linking up with: On the Daily ExpressMore Pieces of MeLip Gloss and CrayonsReasons to DressThe Pleated PoppyGet Your Pretty OnShanna Said SoCurly Crafty MomHappiness at MidlifeFashion Should Be FunJo-Lynne ShaneBonBon Rose Girls Sunday Funday#Reasons2Travel

17 thoughts on “Where I Went and What I Wore

    • leeles2 May 18, 2015 / 4:13 pm

      Thanks, Darlene! Have a great week!

  1. Reasons to Dress (@reasonstodress) May 13, 2015 / 12:01 am

    LOVE WHAT YOU WORE!! What an incredible vacation and I’m also an over-packer so I totally appreciate your strategy! #reasonstodress

    • leeles2 May 13, 2015 / 6:47 pm

      Thanks @reasontodress! My goal is to use a carry-on sized bag for a 3-day trip. I’m too much of a fan of options…sigh. 🙂

  2. Carrie @ Curly Crafty Mom May 15, 2015 / 12:29 pm

    That jumpsuit is the cutest! I really need to add one of these to my closet, especially for the summer! That was a long flight, but I am sure it was worth it once you got there!

    • leeles2 May 18, 2015 / 4:13 pm

      So funny how many people like the jumpsuit…guess getting out of the comfort zone is a good thing! Thanks for checking in! Have a great week!

  3. Jill May 16, 2015 / 2:31 pm

    I love your jumpsuit! Such a fun print! It looks both comfy and chic! Thanks for linking up with Thursday Fashion Files!

    Jill
    Doused In Pink

    • leeles2 May 18, 2015 / 4:12 pm

      Thank YOU for checking in! Jumpsuits are fab!!!

  4. happinessatmidlife May 18, 2015 / 8:43 pm

    Great purchase for a wonderful vacation. I always tend to buy new clothes when I go on holiday (I guess I just need an excuse to shop).

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

    Hope to see you Thursday for TBT Fashion link up.

    • leeles2 May 31, 2015 / 7:21 am

      Hi Joanne! Loved your post on traveling and wish I’d done more in my twenties. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Bora Bora upon your return!

  5. egeorgian June 9, 2015 / 4:55 am

    I’ve been looking for a cute jumpsuit like that. Love it!

    Thank you for linking up with the #REASONS2TRAVEL linkup!!

  6. marghenick June 12, 2015 / 4:31 pm

    Wow! Bora Bora! I once went to a French Polynesia presentation night and loved it. It’s the ultimate honeymoon destination! Love it! Thanks for joining the #REASONS2TRAVEL linkup!!

  7. lamammadiz June 27, 2015 / 10:52 pm

    Thank you for linking this up with #REASONS2TRAVEL as well!! And for making me so jealous AGAIN that you went to Bora Bora!!!

Leave a Reply

