Pinned & Tried

It’s been a little while since I posted a Pinned & Tried – Fashion edition, so here goes.  My latest obsession has been the kimono and over the past few months, I’ve been watching from afar.  At first I didn’t know it was called a kimono because I immediately thought of the traditional Japanese kimono like this:

800px-Kimono_lady_at_Gion,_Kyoto

But the current definition of kimono is what I have been seeing and pinning on Pinterest.  It usually looks light weight, flowy and floral.  Sort of like this:

sandyalamodekimonostyle

kimono the bay

Then one day when reading Get Your Pretty On, I saw this:

pretty fix: july kimono

And that kimono front and centre caught my eye.  So after a little research, I realized I could order from Amazon.ca and I did.  It arrived in less than 3 weeks for the bargain price of less than $15 Cdn!  I have to admit, I was pretty surprised at the quality.  The colours are exactly as shown (phew!) and so far the stitching and sewing seem to pretty good.  I’m not expecting this kimono to last for years but if I can get 2 seasons out of it, I’ll be happy.

So now that I have my kimono, the dilemma becomes not when to get one, but how to wear one. Thankfully, I have been pinning some images and decided to try wearing it like this:

kimono

If I had not pinned this pin-spiration outfit, I would not have tried it.  But I have to say, that as much as I love the idea of shorts with the kimono, I don’t love it on me. Maybe it’s because the shorts and the kimono are the same length?  I’m also not a fan of my sandals, so that isn’t helping me.

Next, I swapped the shorts for jeans and the sandals for flip flops:
kimono

and lastly, I put on ankle length jeans and a pair of ballet flats:

kimono

The last look is my favourite, but if I was able to get a pair of sandals that I really liked, then I would definitely try wearing the kimono like my pin-spiration photo.

All in all, I am so happy with my find, my purchase and my new kimono.  I call this one a successful Pinned & Tried!

linking up with: The Pleated PoppyThe Mummy ChroniclesCurly Crafty MomHappiness at MidlifeFashion Should Be FunThe Pin JunkieJo-Lynne ShaneJaymie AshcraftMore Pieces of Me

4 thoughts on “Pinned & Tried

  1. curlycraftymom August 20, 2015 / 11:15 am

    I have two kimonos and both are a little different and I love each. Your floral one looks great!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

  2. happinessatmidlife August 23, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    You choose a great kimono – love the colors! Thank you for joining TBT Fashion link up and hope to see you next week.

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

Leave a Reply

