Holiday Packing – Follow up

This past week, my blog feed has been filled with posts about about Thanksgiving, snow, Christmas and holiday decorating.

20131129-225203.jpg

 

I interrupt these festivities to bring you an update about  what I packed for a trip to Hawaii.

What to packor not...

 

The rainy weather comes fairly early here on the West Coast and with the Remembrance Day holiday in early November, many families take a holiday to a sun destination before the real cold and rain sets in.

A few weeks ago, I lamented about what to pack for this trip.  I do this for most trips and always pack just a few too many things.  So, to move this along so that you can get back to your blanket scarf and holiday decorating,  here is what I packed:

  • 3 pairs of shorts (black, khaki, distressed denim)
  • 2 black & cream short patterned dresses
  • 1 long black & grey maxi dress
  • 2 tank tops (orange & blue)
  • 1 skirt (grey)
  • 4 tees (white, black, graphic and purple)
  • 1 pair of lululemon athletic pants (to wear on the plane)
  • 1 cardigan (black)
  • 1 sport jacket (black – to wear on the plane)
  • 3 bathings suits
  • 2 cover ups
  • exercise clothes
  • 1 pair of sandals, 1 pair of flip flops and Nike fun runners

 

Are you wondering how much of this I wore?  You might be surprised.

  • 1 pair of shorts  – the black ones only. Realized that I don’t like the distressed denim ones and didn’t need the khaki ones.
  • 1 short dress – made by Columbia with a built in bra in a forgiving pattern for wrinkles and spills.  The other dress was an impulse online order and never fit well or looked good.
  • 1 long maxi dress – wore a couple times for dinner – love it!
  • 1 tank top – the orange one added colour to my shorts and fit better than the blue one I dragged along
  • 1 skirt – this grey t-shirt skirt goes everywhere with me and pretty much any top goes with it.  Super easy to pack and wear.
  • 3 tees – I wore the white one the most, then the graphic one and lastly the purple one.  The black one stayed in my suitcase the whole time, which is surprising for me.
  • 2 bathing suits were worn and both cover ups.
  • All the shoes were worn regularly.

 

So, as you can see I slightly overpacked.  Not by a great amount but there were about 8 extra items that hooked a ride on my trip and weren’t needed.

These hot tropical type vacations really don’t require a lot of clothing.  You rarely see the same people twice, most condos have laundry facilities and with the exception of the odd dinner out, it is a pretty casual trip.  Bring along a few pieces of jewellery and voila your outfit has changed.

We now resume our regular programming.  Cue Christmas music, elf and holiday decorating.

IMG_2253

 

linking up with: Pleated PoppyHappiness at Mid-lifeFashion Should Be FunCurly Crafty MomJo-Lynne Shane

 

5 thoughts on “Holiday Packing – Follow up

  1. curlycraftymom December 3, 2015 / 7:47 pm

    Hawaii is on my must see list!! I always overpack, too… I like to have options! lol!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    • C.K. December 8, 2015 / 2:35 pm

      I have often used the saying, “If you can carry it, you can pack it!”

  2. Jess December 8, 2015 / 12:37 pm

    I would love to go there! WHo wouldnt love the beaches and clear waters Enjoy!
    thanks for linking up with MRS style
    jess xx
    wwwelegantlydressedandstylishcom

  3. shbowdoin December 8, 2015 / 4:27 pm

    I often pack more than I need; especially for tropical vacations. Thanks for adding your unique style point of view to the My Refined Style Linkup.

    Shellie
    http://www.thefabjourney.com

  4. happinessatmidlife December 9, 2015 / 8:30 pm

    I grew up in Hawaii and go every year and still over pack too. Thank you for being a part of TBT Fashion link up and hope to see you soon!

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

Leave a Reply

