Breaking Up is Hard to Do

A certain  ice-themed Disney movie features what should be my theme song. Let. It. Go. Seriously. Let it go.

I have had this Gap sweater for a long time. Years, in fact. So many years. I can’t even remember when I bought it. It’s been so long that I think I saw a character on One Tree Hill wearing it. No, I wasn’t watching the show myself. I happened to peek in on my daughter binge-watching over Christmas break.

I got a lot of wear out of this sweater. I wore it to work with a  scarf and with jeans…and a scarf. Mad props to Gap for making a sweater so durable. Up until the last couple of weeks and the last couple of wears, I thought it still looked pretty good. But I was wrong. It looks like I’ve had it and worn it as long and as many times as I have. Adios, Gap sweater!

Go back now almost 6 1/2 years. I’ve just turned 40 and I’m meeting one of my closest friends in New York for a few days of shopping and dining (and stalking Matt Lauer on the plaza).

Why shouldn’t I try the new trend? Why shouldn’t I wear boyfriend jeans from Levis? I’ll tell you why. Because the first boyfriend jeans were not cut for girls with bigger butts and thighs. But I talked myself into them and off I went. Big mistake. Huge. And, yes, that’s a quote from Pretty Woman, a movie my sis and I love and still quote regularly from.

So, since I am not currently starting a museum for things I’ve worn and shouldn’t have I am also bidding these jeans adieu.

It’s a new year, after all. Shouldn’t I try something new?

linking up with: Jaymie AshcraftJo-Lynne ShaneFashion Should Be FunMore Pieces of MeSincerely Jenna MarieThe Pleated Poppy

 

One thought on “Breaking Up is Hard to Do

Leave a Reply

