Too much denim?!

I never thought I would use this title as a blog post.  Denim on denim reminds me of the 80s and more specifically of my bad denim choices during those years.  Mainly, acid wash jeans and a matching jacket.  But I digress.

Although I have seen other bloggers and fashionistas post pictures of denim on denim, I knew this was a look I couldn’t pull off.   Until just a few weeks ago when I didn’t have a choice.

We arrived on the California coast after a few days in the desert.  The desert was hot and the coast was 20 degrees cooler!!   In my efforts to travel light on this trip, I figured I didn’t need a lot of layers since most of the trip was in Palm Springs. So I  wore a jean jacket on the plane with leggings (#cuteoutfit) and packed a pair of jeans.  One jacket and one pair of jeans – both denim and both not meant to be worn together.

But on the evening of day one on the coast, I was cold.  It was sunny, but cool and windy.  So as we headed out for dinner, I broke my rule of no denim on denim.

Much to my surprise, I think it worked!  The jacket was much darker than the jeans so there was contrast. #thatsagoodthing

I probably won’t do this again in the near future but I think in despite of my packing fail, I think I survived denim on denim.

linking up with: Fashion Should Be FunCurly Crafty MomJaymie AshcroftJo-Lynne ShaneLifestyle by JoulesHappiness at Mid-lifeGaray Treasures

9 thoughts on “Too much denim?!

  1. curlycraftymom April 8, 2016 / 3:42 am

    I am such a huge fan of denim on denim and years ago I would have thought no way! I love this look on you!!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    • C.K. April 8, 2016 / 8:24 am

      Thanks – it was a bit of a relief to not look end up looking like I was straight from the 80s 🙂

  2. KLG April 17, 2016 / 12:29 pm

    I really like it. Nice work even if it wasn’t planned!

  3. happinessatmidlife April 18, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    Never too much denim!

    Thank you for being a part of TBT Fashion link up and hope to see you soon!

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

  4. Kim May 13, 2016 / 8:47 am

    You look good in denim. Planning a trip to Vanouver in early June. Would you have any suggestions on what to wear then(will be exploring Stanley Park and your fine city and of course some shopping. Thanks in advance.

    • C.K. May 23, 2016 / 8:23 pm

      So cool to hear you are coming to Vancouver! We are a pretty casual city, but that said there are definitely times to dress up. During the day, you will see women in jeans; distressed, boyfriend style, skinnies, etc. We wear our jeans with tanks, tees and cardigans and Converse runners. A lot of time you will also see women wearing tights with long tees and hoodies. If you plan to rent bikes or walk through Stanley Park, wear comfortable shoes and clothes. If it’s hot, shorts are definitely ok for exploring. You may have heard that it is rainy here. If you have a light weight rain jacket and small umbrella, you may want to bring it along, just in case. For evening wear, you will see jeans with tops and either flats or heels. Maxi dresses are also pretty popular here for day and night. There is a fairly new and small outlet mall close to the airport for shopping. Also Robson Street and Pacific Centre mall downtown are full of great shops. Have a fun trip!

Leave a Reply

