What I saw – Fashion in Paris

IMG_5612.jpg

 

Our family recently returned from a vacation in Europe and the last few days were spent in Paris.  I was in Paris about 21 years ago with my sister (who shares this blog) with me.   It was 1995, September and the weather was quite cool.  Here’s what we wore:

 

10437425_10152963601308626_4024092411949094285_n

 

You may want to know why we were wearing XXL sweatshirts?  Umm…we have no clue!!  We both laugh and shudder to believe we actually dressed like this in Paris!

Fast forward to this year and I think I have improved my travelling wardrobe.  I’ll do another post about what I packed, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t stand out as an obvious tourist.  But I also didn’t look like a Parisian.  These women have an effortless style about them that is hard to describe, but I’ll try.  Chic, classic, simple, confident, basic, put together.   Just a few words that come to mind.

Before I tell you my favourite Parisian looks, I’ll tell you what I didn’t see:

  • really distressed denim
  • boyfriend jeans
  • off the shoulders tops (only worn by tourists)
  • too many patterns

I’m not saying these items are not being worn in Paris, but I just didn’t see them.

What did I see?

  • tailored pants/jeans – cigarette style in dark denim or black
  • cropped and flared pants – in linen
  • white tops – blouses and tees
  • simple dresses in solid colours
  • scarves
  • classic and simple purse or bag
  • ballet flats (yes, they really do wear them)
  • stylish sunglasses
  • dark blazer or fitted cardigan
  • solid colours or colour blocking

 

During our travels around the city, there were two Parisian women that stood out to me.

The first  wore a white tee, dark jeans, black and tan ballet flats and a dark blazer and carried a simple cross body purse.

The second had on a sleeveless dress, more of a tank style with a full skirt.  It was in a bright coral colour, and accessorized with a necklace and carried a classic tote style purse. The sandals were flat but with that slightly thicker sole that seems to be on trend right now.

Both women looked fantastic and although I couldn’t see myself wearing the bright coral dress, I could see myself recreating the look being with a more subtle colour.  I wasn’t able to take a picture of either of these ladies, but I found a few images on Pinterest that will show you how they looked:

camo_flats6-530x807
Source
paris-street-style-uniform-dressing-01.1
Source
blazer-short-sleeve-blouse-skinny-jeans-loafers-tote-bag-large-5848
Source

 

Chic-Classic-TN
Shannon from Gamine & Stripes

 

16WSUM_WM410_IVO_W01
Source

 

002613550
Source
ZB6851200_main
Source

 

d84e9303f0baa519bc4268fb67e22ca4
Source

 

There are lots and lots of images and ideas on Pinterest (of course) if you need more inspiration.  I thought this this article summed it all up quite nicely.  I’m going to try and add a little more Paris to my wardrobe and since it’s actually quite simple, I should be able to find everything in my closet 🙂

 

linking up with: More Pieces of MeSincerely Jenna MarieElegantly FashionableHigh Latitude StyleGaray TreasuresStyle NudgeTwo Peas in a BlogFine Whatever BlogA Good HueWalking In Memphis in High HeelsThe Mummy ChroniclesPosh Classy MomThe Pleated PoppyThe Blended BlogGet Your Pretty OnSydney Fashion HunterClassy Yet TrendyElegance and MommyhoodThe Fab JourneyHappiness at Mid-life,Curly Crafty MomFashion Should Be Fun,Jo-Lynne ShaneNancy’s Fashion StylePosh Classy MomShelbee on the EdgeMs. Toody Goo Shoes

 

17 thoughts on “What I saw – Fashion in Paris

    • Colleen August 3, 2016 / 8:49 pm

      Thanks – I think that is one that will be easy to recreate this Fall. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. Pam Greer August 4, 2016 / 5:44 am

    I love hearing about Paris fashion.

    • Colleen August 4, 2016 / 2:25 pm

      I know – I can’t stop pinning images of it either 😊

    • Colleen August 7, 2016 / 7:41 am

      Thanks for stopping by! It’s always fun to look at old pictures, isn’t it? 😊

  2. Shannon at Gamine & Stripes August 4, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    I LOVE this post! I’m also SOOO honored to be featured as a Parisian style dresser. Wowzahs. This post is definitely inspiring my Fall wardrobe! I love all of the pictures you posted on here. Thank you much. xoxo,Shannon

    • Colleen August 5, 2016 / 7:04 pm

      Thanks Shannon – I can tell you would love a trip to Paris – you would fit in perfectly 😊. Have a great weekend!!

  3. happinessatmidlife August 7, 2016 / 10:22 pm

    I remember there was an article about Parisian minimalist wardrobe and how they look so chic and stylish. I love these looks you shared.

    Thank you for being a part of TBT Fashion link up and hope to see you soon!

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

  4. shbowdoin August 10, 2016 / 5:56 pm

    I enjoyed this post and I enjoy the Parisian minimalist style. I chose this as one of my featured faves from last week’s Thursday Favorite Things. I will be featuring you this week on my Thursday post!

    Shellie
    http://www.thefabjourney.com

    • Colleen August 11, 2016 / 1:36 pm

      Thank you so much!! Enjoy the rest of your week and have a great weekend!!

  5. shelbeeontheedge1 August 17, 2016 / 3:31 pm

    Thanks so much for linking up On the Edge of the Week! I hope to see you again this week.

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

  6. Kristen October 24, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Perfectly written!

Leave a Reply

