Shoes for Days

IMG_5198

This picture represents the shoes my family took on our recent trip to Europe.   Four people, 3 weeks, 17 pairs of shoes.  That averages out to roughly four pairs each, but in actual fact I ended up with 6 pairs in my suitcase.  This was no beach vacation, so I knew we needed comfortable shoes.  Our plans included walking – lot of walking!!

Here’s the breakdown of who took what:

Daughter:

  • Flip flops
  • Native slip ons
  • Sketcher slip ons
  • Under Armour runners

She only wore the Natives once, so I probably could have left this pair at home.  Same with  the Under Armour runners as she preferred her Sketcher slips ons most days.  I wish I had bought a pair of Birkenstock sandals for her as the selection and price in Germany was way better than here at home.  #missedopportunity

 

 Son:


  • Flip flops
  • Vans black slip ons
  • Under Armour runners

My son wore exactly what he brought exactly when I thought he would.  He didn’t complain about sore feet, so I deem his shoe packing a success.

 

Husband:

 


  • 2 x pairs of Adidas
  • Flips flops
  • Running shoes  (for running/hiking)

Husband rotated through his shoes each day as we did a lot of walking.  He didn’t end up wearing his flip flops at all, but since they didn’t take up much room it was still worth bring them along.  #justincase

(note:  couldn’t find the other Adidas to put in the picture as he was wearing them)

 

Me:


  • flip flops
  • tan coloured sandals
  • Black Nike runners
  • White Superga runners
  • Black espadrilles

I am pretty happy with the shoes I packed and I wore them all.  I wish I had swapped out my white laces on the Nikes to black so that they would have looked more like a fashion runner than a workout runner. That said, with a white tee and black jogger pants they were just fine.

The Superga were a new purchase before we left and I was surprised how comfortable they were.  Of course I bought white and they got dirty, but I was ok with that.   I also bought a pair of black espadrilles before we left and I’m glad I did!  Very comfortable for walking around and went just fine with my jeans, jogger pants and both my dresses. My Mat & Nat sandals were also quite comfortable and easy to wear with all my outfits.

And while in Germany, I purchased these:

The Birkenstocks were purchased because I have a lot of friends who rave about them and since I was in the land of Birkenstocks…I had to have a pair.  They have been on trend for a few years now and while I used to shun them, I’m now happy to have a pair.  If you haven’t tried them, you should.  You might be surprised.

I would use this shoe packing guide again for any other long trips that involve a lot of walking.  What do you think?  Did I forget to include anything?  Let me know in the comments what shoes you take on your trips.

linking up with: Jaymie AshcraftFashion Should Be FunHappiness at Mid-lifeJo-Lynne ShaneNancy’s Fashion StyleNancy’s Fashion StylePocketful of Polka DotsPosh Classy MomPosh Classy MomMore Pieces of MeSincerely Jennna MarieStyle NudgeReasons to Dress,The Pleated PoppyShopping My ClosetThe Blended BlogGet Your Pretty OnJersey Girl Texan HeartClassy Yet Trendy

 

12 thoughts on “Shoes for Days

  1. jaymieashcraft August 11, 2016 / 4:46 pm

    It’s always good to be prepared!!! Love the shoes you bought!!!!
    Jaymie

  2. happinessatmidlife August 11, 2016 / 10:13 pm

    I think you had some great options for traveling with lots of walking. I always have a pair of sandals, flip flops and sneakers as well.

    Thank you for joining TBT Fashion link up and hope to see you next week. Have a great weekend!

    Alice
    http://www.happinessatmidlife.com

    • Colleen August 12, 2016 / 4:43 pm

      I think flip flops have to go on each and every trip you take, because you just never know…!!

  3. robjodiefilogomo August 13, 2016 / 7:36 am

    I haven’t succumbed to the Birks yet—and I’m aware of never to say never! I love my shoes though and can’t imagine traveling without some fun sneakers & bright walking shoes!!
    jodie
    http://www.jtouchofstyle.com

    • Colleen August 14, 2016 / 7:21 pm

      I might have to add my bright pink runners (sneakers) to my next trip as they are so much fun! Thanks for the visit!

  4. jennie1969 August 14, 2016 / 6:03 pm

    Good selection of shoes for vacation overall and I am sure they were great for walking around. I really like the Birkenstock’s you purchased, too! I’ve enjoyed seeing that trend on others the past few years.

    Thanks for linking up with Fabulous Friday and have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Darcy August 15, 2016 / 11:59 am

    When we went to London in the spring it was so hard to narrow down the shoes.i Wanted soemthing comfy, something for rain, something for date night, etc.!
    http://www.amemoryofus.com

    • Colleen August 16, 2016 / 8:03 am

      Exactly!! I think 4 pairs of shoes is the average for a European vacation or maybe 5 if you buy a pair 😉

  6. shoestoshiraz August 17, 2016 / 7:41 am

    I always manage to fail in the shoe-packing department. Great purchase…love the colour of those Birks!

    • Colleen August 17, 2016 / 3:07 pm

      Thanks – I decided to stick with a neutral colour so I wouldn’t tire of them. Enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

