5 things I always buy at Ikea

I haven’t been to Ikea in about six months and yet, within the past three weeks, I have shopped there three times.  Go figure.

Just like at Costco, there are a few staples that I usually buy at Ikea.  They are always in good supply and the price is always right!

Clockwise from top right:

  1. Toilet brush cleaner/holder – it’s only $1 and it gets the job done.  Enough said.
  2. Kitchen dish scrub brush – again it’s about $1, comes in 3 colours and lasts a pretty long time.
  3. Ribba frames – these vary in size and price, and come with a mat.  These frames are frequently used for gallery walls in many of the magazines I read.
  4. Roll of paper – found in the children’s section.  It’s about $5 and we use it for colouring, drawing, making signs, table runners, etc.
  5. Fantastisk napkins – they are fantastic.  Cost is about $3 and I usually buy the standard white, but they often have seasonal colours and a few patterned ones throughout the year.

Obviously, my shopping cart is filled with more than these five items anytime I go to my favourite Swedish home store.  Am I missing anything?  What do you buy when you go to Ikea?

linking up with: Design Dining & DiapersThe Fab JourneySincerely, PaulaA Little Bit of EverythingShelbee on the EdgeCurly Crafty MomClaire JustineI Should Be Mopping the FloorGood Random FunBy BMG

18 thoughts on “5 things I always buy at Ikea

  1. Nancy August 25, 2016 / 12:52 pm

    I don’t like shopping there, but weer used to buy lamps there. They always have those fabulous lamps!

    • Colleen August 26, 2016 / 1:19 pm

      I think most people have a love/hate relationship with Ikea, but I agree they have a great selection of lamps at affordable prices. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Helen Reynolds August 25, 2016 / 8:10 pm

    I always have get something with Lingen berries! Also I purchased a big wooden cutting board there that I love.

    • Colleen August 26, 2016 / 1:18 pm

      Oh yes – that berry jam is divine! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. whosaprettygirl August 25, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    O…MG you need to buy the box of Muesli cereal!
    #itsthebestthingever

    • Colleen August 26, 2016 / 1:17 pm

      I have never tried it, but I will pick some up on my next trip!! Thanks for the suggestion.

  4. shelbeeontheedge1 August 26, 2016 / 12:48 pm

    I have not been to an Ikea in years. I’m afraid I would spend too much money!

    Thanks so much for linking up with me On the Edge of the Week! I hope to see you again next week. Have a marvelous weekend!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

    • Colleen August 26, 2016 / 1:21 pm

      Yes, Ikea can be a little dangerous on the wallet. See you next week!

  5. Irene Thayer August 26, 2016 / 6:02 pm

    This is so inspiring! I love the post:)

    irenethayer.com

  6. KLG August 27, 2016 / 8:28 am

    I wish our Ikea was closer…with less traffic! I miss that section that has all the cool kitchen stuff. And napkins! I miss the napkins!!!

    • Colleen August 27, 2016 / 8:45 am

      Give me a list and I’ll get them for you!

  7. Cat August 29, 2016 / 5:20 am

    I love shopping there and I have bought all the items you mentioned and love them all. I especially love all the fun printed napkins. I just wish IKEA were closer. It’s 1 1/2 hours for us so we go maybe 1-2 times a year when we pass by it.

    • Colleen August 29, 2016 / 2:02 pm

      It’s probably financially better to have Ikea further away. My Ikea is about 1/2 hour away, but thankfully I don’t seem to go too often. Thanks for the visit!

  8. claire August 29, 2016 / 1:14 pm

    I love IKEA, only trouble is I want to buy everything when I visit 🙂 Thanks for sharing at Creative Mondays..

  9. Valerie August 29, 2016 / 9:38 pm

    My kids and I love IKEA. The nearest one is about an hour and fifteen minutes away but I can honestly tell you we visit quite often. We have a bucket list that consists of visiting every IKEA in the country and eventually the main one in Sweden.
    The five things we buy at each visit whether needed or not are; the dish scrubber, the toilet bowl cleaner, batteries (my son claims they last longer than Duracell or Energizer) towels, and pillows.
    Of course, as a previous poster stated our cart is always filled with other items. My kids are 14 and 21 and they love playing “house” in their respective model rooms.

    We always make a day out of it by grabbing lunch and of course sharing a slice of that divine chocolate cake.

    The newest catalog arrived and I can already tell you there are post its on every page containing items I want.

    • Colleen September 3, 2016 / 7:58 am

      I would love to visit IKEA in Sweden! That’s a travel goal going in my list! Glad to hear there is another family that can spend hours in Ikea like us. I haven’t tried the cake so I’ll have to have a slice next time! Thanks for visiting!

  10. curlycraftymom August 31, 2016 / 10:04 am

    Love this post! We just got an IKEA here in STL and I’ve only been there once, but I have been dreaming about going again soon. Good to know about the white frames and the napkins, both of which I need from time to time!!!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    • Colleen September 3, 2016 / 7:56 am

      Hoping you get back to Ikea soon and check out all the new arrivals!!

Leave a Reply

