Confessions of an Overpacker

Been to Hawaii or any tropical destination in your lifetime? If so, and correct me if I’m wrong, you know that casual is the most common dress code. And, from experience, I also know that, if you are there to relax, you spend a large portion of your time in swimsuits, coverups and flip flops. I wish someone would have reminded me of this a couple weeks ago.

I am an overpacker. Always have been, probably always will be. I like options. A lot of options. My packing job for my most recent trip to Lana’i and the Big Island set a new personal record for the worst packing I’ve ever done.

I could go over all the unnecessary clothing items I brought but showing you the shoe situation will give you a clear picture, I think.

I wore these Vince sneakers on the plane. I love them for running around at home but they have zero give and once my feet swelled they were close to unbearable. Noted.

 

These Vince sandals were probably the best sandal and probably the only sandal I really needed. Comfortable and practical as they went with most of what I’d packed. Check.

 

I’d been searching for a neutral wedge to wear out for dinners but couldn’t find any that didn’t have the jute footbed and I find that really uncomfortable so I brought these. I wear them all the time at home. Never made it out of the suitcase. 

 

These were a good find at Nordstrom Rack just a couple days before departure. Loved the wedge and the leather footbed (see above). I wore these a couple times, once with a  long sundress and once with a pair of black dressy shorts. 

These are really some of the most uncomfortable flip flops I’ve ever worn and I feel like I’ve given them multiple chances to redeem themselves. The straps rub on the tops of my feet and cause blisters. I’ve had them a couple years, maybe longer. They will not be making a repeat appearance. In my humble opinion, nothing beats good old Havaianas.

I bought these a little more than a year ago and have worn them a lot. They have basically no support but are surprisingly comfortable. I wore them to the pool, to the store and to dinners. Two thumbs up, Tory Burch! I would have brought the same pair in black but my puppy ate them a couple months ago.

Finally (I think), I brought these Asics for hiking and working out. I didn’t do either of those activities as often as I’d planned but I always bring a running shoe of some type on vacation.

Any shoes I’m forgetting? Let me know what you bring on a tropical vacation.

linking up with: Style NudgeElegantly Dressed and StylishTwo Peas in a BlogWalking in Memphis in High HeelsNot Dressed As LambClaire Justine xoxoJersey Girl Texan HeartPosh Classy MomGet Your Pretty OnThe Pleated PoppyShopping My ClosetClassy Yet TrendyThe Mummy ChroniclesSydney Fashion HunterThe Blended BlogHappiness at Mid-lifeCurly Crafty MomElegance and MommyhoodThe Fab JourneySincerely, PaulaGood Random FunHigh Latitude StyleJaymie AshcroftFashion Should Be FunNancy’s Fashion StyleA Little Bit of EverythingJo-lynne ShaneShelbee on the Edge

17 thoughts on “Confessions of an Overpacker

  1. whosaprettygirl August 30, 2016 / 1:56 pm

    If it’s black, I’m bringing it! #clothesORshoes

    • KLG August 31, 2016 / 7:02 am

      Amen! Me, too! Though I did try to wear SOME color this trip. It was a lame attempt at best 🙂
      Thanks for checking in! Hope you had a great summer.

  2. Claire August 30, 2016 / 10:29 pm

    I’ve not been abroad in years but if I did go, I would want to over pack. Especially with shoes too, you need so many 🙂

    Thnaks for linking up to the Wednesday blog hop

    • KLG August 31, 2016 / 7:03 am

      So true! Thankfully my husband is an overpacked as well. Never makes fun of me 🙂
      Have a great day!

  3. Lana August 31, 2016 / 10:15 pm

    I too always overpack! My husband and I are going to Paris for a week and I have no idea what to bring!

    • KLG September 2, 2016 / 3:08 pm

      Oh wow! Sounds amazing! Check out the post my sister wrote a couple weeks ago. She spent 3 weeks in Europe (including Paris) and made a lot of notes on what worked for her!
      Have a great time!

  4. Tamar September 1, 2016 / 11:30 am

    Look at that location you went to! I tend to over think my packing!

    • KLG September 2, 2016 / 3:07 pm

      Location was amazing! I just could have seen it with a much lighter suitcase 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

  5. Nicole September 1, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    Thanks for linking up to Top of the World Style. I like the fall sandals.

    • KLG September 2, 2016 / 3:06 pm

      I’m going to try to be more like you and pare down a little 🙂
      Have a great weekend!

  6. Jacqui September 9, 2016 / 8:57 am

    I always over pack, end up with a suitcase, handbag and extra carry on bag – which is full of crap that I end up not wearing!!! Nice post Hun… Jacqui
    http://www.mummabstylish.com

    • KLG September 14, 2016 / 9:29 pm

      Hi Jacqui – happy to receive comments like yours to confirm that I am not alone. 🙂

  7. shbowdoin September 11, 2016 / 8:25 pm

    Haha, I can relate. I also end up with a pile of shoes when I travel. Thanks for adding your style flair to the My Refined Style Linkup!

    Shellie
    http://www.thefabjourney.com

  8. shelbeeontheedge1 September 13, 2016 / 6:17 am

    You are definitely not alone in the overpacker category. I hate traveling anywhere even to visit family for a few days because I am such an incurable and obnoxious overpacker. It really borders on the ridiculous. And I will never change and I don;t even attempt to anymore. I figure if I drive most places that I go anyway, who cares how much I bring? 10 pairs of shoes for a 3 day trip. Yep that’s me. And I will only wear one or two pairs! So I feel you on this one!

    Thanks so much for linking up with me On the Edge of the Week! I hope to see you again this week. Have a fabulous day!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

    • KLG September 14, 2016 / 9:28 pm

      I just laughed out loud reading your comment again – I am totally an obnoxious overpacked. Did I mention I wouldn’t even want to use a carry on because I find it too stressful to lug a bag on the plane and then hoist it into the overhead? So I guess overpacking works for us 🙂

    • KLG October 18, 2016 / 3:13 pm

      I like your style! My packing spirit animal 🙂

Leave a Reply

