* Reading for Kids *

My kids are pretty voracious readers. My son can pick up a book and be lost in it for hours.  My daughter is just finishing Grade 1 and is also reading some easy chapter books on her own.

Our kids did a lot of reading over the summer break, but that’s not the case for all children.  So, if you need a few books to ease your child back into reading before school starts, this might be the post for you.

I thought I’d share some of the books my son has loved over the past years.  Harry Potter and Percy Jackson are solid favourites and already pretty well known.  Here’s a few you might not have heard of:

Zac Power

This series by H.I. Larry is about a 12 year old boy and his older brother who are secret agents for a government agency.  The chapters are fairly short and easy to read.  Best for kids 8-10.

img_3639

 

Captain Awesome by Stan Kirby

My son received this for a birthday gift when he was 6 and it’s a fun series of books.  The Captain is 8 year old Eugene McGillicudy and he has adventures throughout his neighbourhood with a crazy cast of characters.  Easy to read and probably best for kids in Kindergarten to Grade 3.

img_3640

 

National Geographic Kids

Our family loves these books and pretty much all the National Geogrpahic books.  These are the books that we take to restaurants, leave in the car and bring along to appointments.  Lots of fun facts, great pictures and easy to read.  Also look for Myth Busters, Sticker Activity Books and more from this great organization.

img_3642

 

Ratburger by David Walliams

About 6 months ago, my son (aged 9) received Grandpa’s Great Escape by the same author and since then, he pretty much powered through all the books by David Walliams.  The writing is funny, the characters are unique and quirky and best of all, the kids laugh out loud when reading his books.

img_3643

 

The Circus Ship by Chris Van Dusen

This one was introduced to us by friends about 3 years ago and we still love it!  The illustrations alone are worth it.  The story rhymes and teaches us about friendship in the most fun way.

img_3644

 

Geronimo Stilton by Geronmio Stilton

If you haven’t read this series yet, I highly recommend it.  We started when my son was 5 or 6.  They are chapter books, but they have a lot of colourful illustrations and the type is done creatively in different colours and types.  Geronimo takes us around the world on adventures with his sister and cousin.   My son still loves these books and now my daughter (aged 7) has started reading them, too.

img_3641

 

House of Robots by James Patterson

You may know James Patterson from the crime novels, but he also writes books for kids.  This series is about a boy entering Grade 5 who lives with a house full of robots.  We just picked this one up and haven’t read it yet, but the reviews are great and it looks like a fun read.

img_3638

 

MasterMinds by Gordon Korman

Gordon Korman has written over 80 books!  This series is about a group of kids who think they live in the most boring town in the world.  Until….a friend disappears and the kids have to investigate what is really happening in their town.  Best for middle school age kids.  If they like this series, there are lots of others by Korman to choose from.

unnamed-4

 

Spy School and Spy Camp by Stuart Gibbs

These books are about Ben a middle school student who ends up in a school for spies.  Super fun series and my son can’t wait to read Evil Spy School next.

unnamed-3

These are just a few of the books on our shelf.   What did you kids read this summer?  Please let me know in the comments!

linking up with:  Sincerely, PaulaGood Random FunA Little Bit of EverythingMom Home GuideShelbee on the EdgeCurly Crafty MomBy BMG

7 thoughts on “* Reading for Kids *

  1. mscarletti September 1, 2016 / 8:43 am

    I am so glad that I found you! We are big readers here and I love your suggestions!

    • Colleen September 3, 2016 / 7:54 am

      That’s great! We ❤️ reading, too!! I’m working on a list of my daughter’s books so stay tuned!

  2. curlycraftymom September 2, 2016 / 12:44 pm

    Thanks for sharing these books! Sometimes I’m just not sure what to get for the kids, but these would work for both of them. We hit the library from time to time during the school year, so I need to bookmark this post!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

  3. Andrea@WellnessNotes September 5, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    Great collection of books! Our 4th grader read several of them. We are very lucky that he loves to read (our older son was a completely different story…).

    The 4th grader read the Harry Potter series. I thought he would only read the first book, but he just kept on reading… We read last books in the series together and made sure we talked about what happened…

    Andrea
    Andrea’s Wellness Notes

    • Colleen September 6, 2016 / 7:13 pm

      I read Harry Potter before my son did and then I started with him. He actually stopped reading when Harry became a teenager as I think he stopped identifying with Harry as a boy. He has recently picked up the series again, so will have to see if he finishes or puts them on hold until he’s ready. I actually enjoy most of the books he reads – wonder how long that will last 😉

  4. shelbeeontheedge1 September 13, 2016 / 6:25 am

    Great list! I recently tried to read Harry Potter to my kids, but they are still a bit too young (3 and 5). Have you tried the Frankie Pickle series? Those are really fun books, too. They combine traditional chapter style with comic book style (and the author/illustrator graduated in my high school class…so I, of course, need to shamelessly plug his work!) But for real, they are really fun books!

    Thanks so much for linking up with me On the Edge of the Week! I hope to see you again this week. Have a fabulous day!

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

    • Colleen September 15, 2016 / 11:20 am

      Thanks for the suggestion of Frankie Pickle – I’ve already got it on order from the library! And yes, Harry Potter is probably more suited to you than your kids right now, but they will be there soon enough!

Leave a Reply

