Pinned & Tried

Six months ago, I sent my sister this picture with a text saying, “We need to get this vest.”

unnamed-3

She quickly agreed, but neither of us purchased it.  As time passed, I often thought about buying that vest.  Instead of buying it, I randomly pinned images of how to wear it.  Like these:

7b22e09b32804b1283292281f0d26fcf
source
810c86c3540806c7b2b6f07d940c0dac
Source

Then one day, the vest happened upon me.  I was dropping off some donations at a thrift store and the woman in line ahead of me happened to be donating this:

unnamed-3

When I had the chance, I asked for it.  Surprise, surprise, it was the elusive utility vest that I wanted, but never looked for.  The store offered it to me for $3!  How could I say no?

Fast forward a couple of days and voilá:

img_6437

I love the vest!  It’s so easy to wear and style.  I don’t do a lot of thrifting, but in this case I’m glad I was at the right place at the right time.

Yes, this is one successful Pinned & Tried!

linking up with: Curly Crafty MomSincerely, PaulaGood Random FunJaymie AshcraftFashion Should Be FunShelbee on the EdgeSheelagohA World of DressesA Little Bit of EverythingJo-Lynne ShaneNancy’s Fashion StyleMore Pieces of MeNot Dressed As LambNot Dead Yet StyleGaray TreasuresStyle NudgeTwo Peas in a BlogGet Your Pretty OnShopping My ClosetThe Mummy ChroniclesClassy Yet TrendyThe Pleated PoppyPosh Classy MomJersey Girl Texan HeartElegance and MommyhoodThe Pin Junkie

16 thoughts on “Pinned & Tried

  1. curlycraftymom October 13, 2016 / 12:19 pm

    I have a lot of different outfits pinned with utility vests, because I just got one! Love how you styled yours!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

  2. Nancy October 14, 2016 / 5:00 am

    How in heavens name do all of you lady’s find these great items in a thrift store! You really should take a look at those Dutch stores! Would love it if you could join my Fancy Friday linkup also!

    • Colleen October 14, 2016 / 2:16 pm

      I rarely thrift, but I have to admit I felt like a bit of rockstar finding this vest! I’ve linked up this week – thanks for the party & for stopping by!

    • Colleen October 14, 2016 / 2:17 pm

      Thanks for stopping by – I’ll make sure to link up next week 🙂

  3. happilyevergriedls October 14, 2016 / 7:01 am

    I’ve been wanting to recreate this outfit with the vest and gingham – so cute! What a good steal for you!

    • Colleen October 17, 2016 / 8:19 am

      I really couldn’t believe my good luck when I saw that vest and I also couldn’t believe I every piece I needed to put the inspiration outfit together! Hope you recreate your outfit soon! Thanks for the visit!

  4. Jennie October 19, 2016 / 9:25 am

    Great success story all around! You nailed this look. I always enjoy seeing Pinterest inspired looks.

    • Colleen October 20, 2016 / 2:41 pm

      Thank goodness for Pinterest and great bloggers who inspire us! Glad you stopped by!

    • Colleen October 25, 2016 / 8:24 am

      So glad Pinterest could help me with a little inspiration 🙂 Thanks for the visit!

    • Colleen November 3, 2016 / 3:53 pm

      It doesn’t happen often, but I’m pretty happy with this find!

Leave a Reply

