Searching for KonMari Joy

There’s a sweater in my closet that I LOVE. It has seen better days, is pilling and has a couple tiny holes in the front from my belt, I think. Due to the wool/cashmere blend, I am actually allergic to it and have to take a Claritin before I put it on but when I do…ahhh…happiness, maybe even joy.

I must be a really poor shopper because I have very few items in my closet that really bring me joy and if I followed that tidying up policy to heart I’d have very few things to wear at all.

Poor shopper or not, I am an equal opportunity purger. Yesterday no t-shirt, tank or sweater was spared if it didn’t bring me joy. Well, that’s not entirely true. Sometimes a girl just needs a couple things that are just that…a couple things.

That being said, I held each piece in my hands, tried on most of them and sorted into piles of Keep, Don’t Keep and Doesn’t Belong In This Drawer.

The Equal Opportunity Purger in me easily tossed items with a pop of color into the Don’t Keep pile. I seem to think I like orange and pink but those were the easiest pieces to cast aside. Also pitched were white t-shirts that were no longer white, a few Nordstrom Rack finds that I don’t think I’d even tried on and a sweatshirt-type thing from the Lululemon sale section that I probably bought because it was on sale.

It really does feel good to weed out and be left with things I actually wear. I enjoy feeling “lighter” if only in my closet and not on the scale. It does feel good to donate the items I don’t keep to our local food and clothing bank. And maybe that is where the KonMari joy is, not just in a t-shirt.

linking up with: Curly Crafty MomSincerely, PaulaElegance and MommyhoodJaymie AshcraftA Labour of LifeMomfessionalsJo-Lynne ShaneFashion Should Be FunAdri LatelyNancy’s Fashion StylePosh Classy MomBy BMGStyle NudgeBeauty by Miss LElegantly Dressed & StylishThe Fashion Canvas

 

3 thoughts on “Searching for KonMari Joy

  1. curlycraftymom March 2, 2017 / 11:01 am

    I was thinking that too about Konmari and just how many pieces in my closet would I have left… it’s amazing what I have kept! lol!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

  2. Stefanie S March 14, 2017 / 2:13 pm

    I’m stopping by from Tuesday Talk. XOXO I really need to do this. I’ve tried a few times, but I get too sentimental!

    • Colleen April 8, 2017 / 11:19 am

      It’s hard to do, but it feels so good afterwards! And it might make room for something new!

Leave a Reply

