Baked Olive Chicken

A few years ago, I came across a recipe for Olive Chicken in Donna Hay’s, The Instant Cook cookbook.  I was in a real Donna Hay phase then and had managed to scoop up a few of her cookbooks at a recent bookstore sale.  I liked her and her cookbooks because the recipes were simple and the styling and photography were just lovely to look at.

When I first started making this dish, I didn’t use olives.  What?  How do you make olive chicken without olives?  Well, I used muffuletta instead.  Muffuletta?  Is that a muffin in an omelette?  No…  Muffuletta is an Italian olive salad that includes celery, carrots, onions, cauliflower and a few other tasty ingredients.  My sister had given me a jar of muffuletta and I was hooked.  I simply put a few scoops into the food processor and made it into a tapenade.

I still make this dish and it is a family favourite.  I don’t always have muffuletta on hand, so I use green olives stuffed with pimentos and garlic for added flavour.

Here is Donna Hay’s recipe and photo from her cookbook:

IMG_5156

IMG_5158

As you can see from the picture above, Donna didn’t just use green olives, it looks more like a mix to me.  I made it with just green olives the other night and it looked like this:

IMG_5160

Either way it is quite delicious and an easy weeknight meal.  Enjoy!

linking up with The Jenny EvolutionSuburbs Mama

One thought on “Baked Olive Chicken

  1. Sandra February 10, 2014 / 7:41 pm

    Thanks for sharing on The Four Seasons Blog Hop! Sandra from Scrumptilicious 4 You!

Leave a Reply

