Winning DIY

In between my struggle to get out of my grey clothes, I managed to do a sweet little diy for my hockey playing son.

If you know someone in hockey or another sport, you might find this an easy to remember a special game.

When he scored his first goal of the season, the Coach gave him the puck as a memento.  Since this puck was also the first goal he has ever scored while playing in a league for the past 2 years, I thought it would nice to somehow display it in his room.

We kept it pretty simple.  All we needed was a shadow box, white pen, burlap and glue.

IMG_5324 IMG_5316

 

I gently cleaned the puck and when it was dry, my son wrote the date of the game on the face of the puck.  The control freak in me really wanted to do the writing, but the mom in me knew it was important for him to do it.

We cut a piece of burlap to fit the backing of the shadow box.  All the shadow boxes we found had black backings, so the puck would have just blended in if we hadn’t changed it.  Then we glued it on.

Lots of glue was needed for the puck and lots of patience for while waiting for it dry was what came next.  When the puck was securely on the backing, we put the shadow box back together.

IMG_5334

 

Such an easy project and a big win for my son and his room!

 

linking up with:  The Jenny EvolutionHappy HousieTiny SidekickMade From Pinterest

 

 

Leave a comment