Holidays?

You think we don’t enjoy holidays as much as Canadians? Oh, but you’re wrong!

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been asked if I’m going to “cook out” or “grill out” this weekend! By the way, it is the Memorial Day long weekend coming up here in a day or two and EVERYONE is looking forward to it. It’s like the official countdown to summer begins this weekend.

Last year I remember being asked repeatedly what I was “doing for the 4th”. Yes, they meant the 4th of July. That is also a huge deal here. I’m anti-fireworks so I really just look forward to the days off work. Of course there was the time I got to watch the fireworks from a boat on Lake Union and that was pretty cool but otherwise fireworks keep my kids awake and I find the remnants or the neighborhood variety all over my yard. Ordinance be damned.

I do think Canadians get way way more random school days off. Professional Development days? Is that right? Private schools here seem to get those a lot, too, but not the public schools.

What drives me crazy with our school vacation schedule is Mid-Winter Break. This occurs in mid-February when, granted, the weather sucks and it is a great time to get. out. of. town. If you can. However, at that point, the two-week Christmas break feels like it just ended and we’ve also had a long weekend to celebrate President’s Day and Martin Luther King Day that falls barely three weeks after that.

Can you say overexposure? We all suffer from that by the time March 1st rolls around.

Anyways, as a working mom, I both welcome and fear school summer break which begins in less than a month. When I stayed at home I couldn’t wait to plan daily fun activities and outings. I yearned for the lazy mornings and not-so-strict bedtimes that were part of being out of school. Now, and for the past few years, I scramble to make sure everyone has something to do, somewhere to go or someone to look after them while I go to work. The lazy mornings only apply to my kids.

A blessing is that there will be no homework to work on. This 4th Grade math is killing me. Bring on summer!

Leave a Reply

