No Resolution Required

If I were a New Year’s Resolution kind of person, which I’m not, I would have both failed and succeeded all via our dinner this evening.

As a working single mom, I have relied on take out and convenience foods way more than I’m proud of over the past 3+ years. No time to plan, shop for and execute the healthy, nutritious meals I so wish I had been serving my girls. I also was guilty of sometimes doing things for my girls that they should have been doing for themselves because I deemed it quicker and less of a hassle if I did it myself.

This past weekend when one of them asked me for a glass of water I paused and said “2014! The Year Of Doing Things For Ourselves!”

I got raised eyebrows and a bit of a grumble and then she went and got herself a glass of water. Winner! So this afternoon on what was to be Taco Tuesday, my eldest (the one with the raised eyebrows) pulls out a library book she got today by some kid named Jack Witherspoon. Not just any book, a cookbook. And not written by just any kid, an amazing kid who survived leukemia and raises money for cancer research.

“Mom, can we make something out of this book tonight?”

There it was. The opportunity to nail both resolutions (if I had them). Home cooked meal and independence in one shot. I paused and glanced at the clock. 4:30 p.m. and it was dark and rainy. I didn’t want to go to the store but this is 2014 and I was going to get us all off on the right foot!

Off to the store we went with a list. By this time I’d realized that home cooked was going to have to do and that healthy was not on eldest daughter’s mind. Tonight’s choice, courtesy of Jack Witherspoon’s book, Fettuccine with cream, mushrooms, chicken and peas. But, hey, if it’s good enough for Jack, it’s good enough for us! And this is not a meal we have ever eaten together at home or anywhere else.

Back home, the girls chip in and are now fighting to help make dinner! One measures, one pours. One stirs, one tosses. Voila! In just 30 minutes we were dining on Jack’s Fettuccine. And it was pretty good. Okay, really good, if not a little higher in cream than I was planning on but…oh well! Mission accomplished. Eldest declares it awesome and stakes her claim on leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch.

Now I know there are moms tsk tsking me knowing full well that most kids are more likely to eat different foods when they take part in the preparation. I KNOW that, people! Please see the beginning of my post where I say I had really been too time-crunched to plan that far in advance.

But that is soooo 2013! Tonight my kids did for themselves AND me AND we had a home cooked meal. During dinner we flipped through Jack’s book, aptly called Twist It Up. We twisted it up today, thanks to him. His book was published just two years ago. I hope Jack is still healthy and whipping up more of his fabulous recipes. We’ve already picked tomorrow’s meal, Rockin’ Chili. No resolutions needed.

20140107-201459.jpgPlease know this photo does no justice to the meal. By the time I remembered to take a picture this was all that was left and it had been refrigerated for an hour or so. Presentation is everything.

linking up with:  The Jenny Evolution

Leave a Reply

