Every week…

I’ve been following the good life and really enjoying her Monday Listicles.  So, this week’s list got me thinking.  I have a family of 4; 2 adults, 2 kids under 7 and 1 dog.  We enjoy food and drink, who doesn’t?  But with the amount of groceries that I buy, you would think there are more than 4 of us eating regularly at our house.

I do a big shop at Costco about every 10 days and I supplement that with a weekly trip (or two, or three) to Safeway or Superstore and the local produce market.

So why do I need to shop so frequently?  Well, here are the top 10 things that we consume  at break neck speed:

  1. Cream – for coffee and we drink a fair amount of coffee.
  2. Yogurt – my youngest and I are pretty much addicted to plain Greek yogurt with honey and berries.
  3. Bread – we don’t eat a lot of sandwiches, but for some reason, we always need more bread.
  4. Fresh fruit – especially strawberries, blackberries and blueberries at this time of year.
  5. Veggies – broccoli, baby carrots and kale are always favourites.
  6. Que Pasa Organic Nacho chips – we love these chips as nachos, or plain with either salsa or hummus.
  7. Beer and wine – because, just because it goes so well with everything.
  8. Eggs – Between eating them for breakfast and baking muffins, we seem to go through a dozen eggs in less than a week.  I don’t think Dr. Oz would be too happy with us on this.
  9. Fresh fish – Dr. Oz would be happy that we eat salmon and other fish a couple times each week.
  10. Dog treats – We are in training mode with our puppy and she is sure getting a lot of treats these days.

I love making lists; for groceries, what to do, home repairs, summer ideas, where to go, etc.  I’ll post more lists in the future as it’s fun to put them out there.

I wonder what my sister is buying this week ?

Leave a Reply

