Pinned & Tried – Beauty

I don’t think I’ve ever posted a beauty pinned and tried, but there’s always a first time, isn’t there?

A few weeks ago, I read this post on South by Northwest and this diy particular beauty hack caught my eye.

I’m blond, with highlights and a few grey hairs.  I try not to wash my hair too many times a week and I’m lucky my hair doesn’t get too oily or greasy.

On days when I don’t have time to wash my hair, I use a few sprays of this Kevin Murphy dry shampoo

unnamed-2

It works well and smells great.  It’s a little expensive, but since I use it infrequently it lasts a long, long time.

 

So, when I read about a diy dry shampoo, I knew I had to give it a try.  There were only 3 ingredients; cornstarch, cinnamon and a few drops of an essential oil (I used lavender).  I used a clean little jar and here’s what it looked like when I mixed it up.

 

I had an extra make up brush (yes, I cleaned it first) to dab on the mixture and I’m happy to say it worked!  It blended quite well, smelled just fine and it worked!  I’m not 100% sure that I will give up the regular dry shampoo just yet, but I’m glad I found a natural solution that I can make at home and use frequently.

All in all, I would call this one successful Pinned & Tried Beauty Hack!

linking up with: The Pin JunkieFabulous and Fun Life

4 thoughts on “Pinned & Tried – Beauty

  1. Amelia Vesper May 18, 2016 / 1:17 pm

    Thanks for the shoutout! I’m so glad this DIY worked for you 🙂 Definitely not as much volume/texture as you would get with a store-bought dry shampoo, but it’s pretty cool to be able to whip it up yourself, right?

    xo Mil
    https://southbynorthwestblog.wordpress.com/

    • C.K. May 23, 2016 / 8:17 pm

      sooo handy to be able to do this at home and to know what is in your product!
      thanks for sharing it with us!

  2. Ingrid Ingrid September 27, 2016 / 7:25 pm

    Sounds like an easy and effective beauty hack!

    • Colleen September 28, 2016 / 1:39 pm

      I have to admit I was surprised how well it worked! Thanks for the visit!

Leave a comment