Hello….Stitch Fix!

On the retail front, things were a little low here in Canada after Target left.  Although, nothing will ever replace Target, we now have DSW, J Crew, Nordstorm, Famous Footwear and a few other retail darlings.  What we don’t have though, is Stitch Fix.

My sister who lives in the States had ordered a couple of times and really liked the service.  She wrote about her boxes here and here.   To say I was jealous, was an understatement.  I was reading bloggers who raved about their boxes and the awesome stylists that Stitch Fix employed.  So, after lamenting for the umpteenth time to my sister, she suggested she order one for me.  I would fill out the questionnaire and it would be mailed to her house.  Easy peasy.  Yes and no.  The questions were easy, but I messed up her address (just by a few houses), so there was a small address correction I had to take care of.  Then, we had to figure out how to get it to me.  Hmmm….

When it arrived at her house, I made her open it and we FaceTimed while she tried on the most of the pieces.  I was interested in what I saw and she was quite enthusiastic about what was in my box.  But I still had to get it and we had to send back the pieces I didn’t want, so she mailed it to a border town close to me.  Most of us along the 49th parallel, have had parcels ship from the States to us, but the cost of shipping, duty, taxes and the time…well, sometimes it isn’t worth it.  Enter in the border towns and parcel shipping.  Lots of small towns along the Canada US border have parcel shipping / receiving companies and a lot of us Canadian drive less than an hour to pick up items we have purchased online from the States.  It’s really quite simple and doesn’t take too much time.

So, when I received notification that my box had arrived I set out to get it.  In less than 45 minutes, I saw this:

img_6857

Then, I saw this:

img_6859-1

I wasn’t prepared to try on my items in the parking lot, so I headed to the beach where there was not a soul around.  No one.  Just me and a deserted beach in November.

First up, this lovely on trend scarf:

img_6870

I don’t have anything like it, it wasn’t too big or too heavy.  So, I kept it!

Next, this grey cardigan:

img_6916

img_6924

Cute hoodie, eh?  It was soft, grey and fit just right.  So, I kept it!

Next was this top:

img_6933

It is a classic baseball style shirt which is dark grey with black sleeves.  But there’s a twist…

img_6984

How cute is that elbow patch?  So cute!  But the neckline was too wide and it didn’t feel comfortable, so I put it in the return bag.

Next up was this top:

img_7021

I thought this top was great.  It was soft, fit well, but I didn’t love all the stripes – on me!   It also went back in the bag.

Lastly, was a pair of DL 1961 Cherise Skinny jeans.  I had never tried this brand before, but both my sister and blogger Jo-Lynne Shane have raved about them, so I was excited they were in my box.   They were soft and they fit well, but they were a little big and I could feel them stretching out as I walked around.  Sadly, I said good bye to the DL 1961 jeans until next time.

img_7114

Overall, I was so happy with my Stitch Fix box.  It is really not that inconvenient to drive across the border, pick it up and try on your clothes at the beach.  The beach in November makes for an interesting background, doesn’t it?

Would I do it again?  Probably. Maybe.  Yes.  For sure!!

Have you tried Stitch Fix?  Will you keep ordering?  Please let me know in the comments.

linking up with: Curly Crafty MomSincerely PaulaElegance and MommyhoodFashion Should Be FunJaymie AshcraftJo-Lynne ShaneA Little Bit of EverythingNancy’s Fashion StylePosh Classy MomBirdie ShootsCrazy TogetherNot Dressed As LambShelbee on the EdgeRachel the HatSheelaGohBeauty101 by LisaIt’s Fine, WhateverMore Pieces of MeNot Dead Yet StyleByBMGGaray TreasuresStyle NudgeElegantly Dressed & StylishWalking in MemphisThe Pleated PoppyGet Your Pretty OnShopping My ClosetThe Mummy ChroniclesClassy Yet TrendyJersey Girl Texan HeartPosh Classy Mom,Sydney Fashion HunterFoxy’s Domestic SideA Labour of LifeStyle by Joules

 

27 thoughts on “Hello….Stitch Fix!

  1. Kendra November 10, 2016 / 10:55 am

    So fun! Glad you tried it! I’m happy to ship your Fix to you anytime 🙂

    • Colleen November 11, 2016 / 3:18 pm

      It was hard to send the tops & jeans back. But I did score a brand new pair of premium denim at a consignment store recently, so I didn’t feel too bad….

  2. curlycraftymom November 10, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    The jeans and the gray cardi are my absolute faves! I really need to order another Fix SOON!

    Carrie
    curlycraftymom.com

    • Colleen November 11, 2016 / 3:17 pm

      I could easily see becoming addicted to Stitch Fix!!

  3. Nancy Baten November 11, 2016 / 12:03 am

    Hahaha, a girl has to put some energy in getting some great items right! But it was worth it!

    • Colleen November 11, 2016 / 3:16 pm

      Yes it was worth it and I’d do it again!

    • Colleen November 11, 2016 / 3:16 pm

      Thanks – I do love grey! Joined your linkup – lots of great posts.

  4. Paula November 12, 2016 / 4:30 am

    What a fun first Fix!

    • Colleen November 13, 2016 / 9:18 am

      It was! I think I’ll try it again in a few months. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Sheela Goh November 12, 2016 / 5:42 am

    Stitch Fix is such a cool company 🙂 the team there is immensely helpful and they try very hard to send you pieces which they feel are in line with your style. To be honest, my boxes are more often misses than hits but ever so often, I’ll get sent something spectacularly me, and spectacularly fabulous that I absolutely have to keep 🙂 a shame about those jeans, have you asked them to resend you a pair but in a smaller size?

    I’m talking about legacy on the blog right now. What it means to me. How I want the world to remember me. That and my weekly Project Sister Act Link-Up is currently live, and will be up until next Thursday, and I would so love for you to come over and join in xoxo

    https://sheelagoh.com/2016/11/11/legacy-a-link-up/

    • Colleen November 13, 2016 / 9:20 am

      I didn’t ask them to re-send the jeans, but thought I would do that in a future box. I can see how the boxes could be hit & miss. Hoping you have more success in the future. BTW, great post on leaving a legacy…a gift for others.

      • Sheela Goh November 13, 2016 / 9:25 am

        Thank you 🙂 have a lovely Sunday, Colleen xo

    • Colleen November 15, 2016 / 7:52 pm

      For my first box, I think it was pretty good!

    • Colleen November 15, 2016 / 7:52 pm

      The cardigan is so great and comfortable – I almost wore it to bed!

  6. countdowntofridayblog November 16, 2016 / 9:03 am

    I love reading stitch fix reviews! The baseball tee and scarf are my faves. Perfect for the season. For what it’s worth, I think the stripes do look good on you!
    -Kristin
    countdowntofridayblog.com

    • Colleen November 17, 2016 / 8:36 am

      Thank for you saying that. I am kinda of wondering if I should have kept it. Oh well….maybe in my next box 😉

  7. shelbeeontheedge1 November 17, 2016 / 6:32 am

    Colleen, this is such a cute Stitch Fix post! I love all the things you had to do to get your box! And the beach is great for pictures. So many cute things. I really love the scarf and cardigan that you chose to keep. I hope you get more fabulous pieces in the future! Thanks for linking up with me On the edge.

    Shelbee
    http://www.shelbeeontheedge.com

    • Colleen November 17, 2016 / 8:37 am

      What we have to do in the name of fashion! Maybe one day Stitch Fix will come to Canada, but until then…it’s across the border I go!

    • Colleen January 8, 2017 / 2:33 pm

      The scarf is probably my favourite and I’m wearing it so often! Thanks for the visit!

Leave a comment